Euroregion "Ozerny krai"



General information

On the 4th September 1998 in Braslav regulations of Council for cross-border cooperation between border regions of three countries were signed.

On the 29th of December 1999 in Ignalina (Lithuania) the Council received a status of Euroregion; its structure was defined, spheres of cooperation, signed an application to Association of European Border Regions.


Euroregion includes: Braslav district, Verkhnedvinsk district, Miorsk district, Postavy district and Gluboks district (Belarus); Duagavpilsk district, Kraslav district, Preylski district, Rezeknensk district, including Daugavpilsk and Resekne cities (Lithuania); Zarasaysk district, Ignalinsk district, Utensk district and Shvenchensk district, including Visaginas city (Lithuania).

Territory of the Euroregion is about 21,9 thousand
Population of the Euroregion is about 595 thousand people.
Cities of the Euroregion: Braslav, Postavy (Republic of Belarus), Daugavpils, Resekne (Lithuania), Visaginas, Ignalin (Latvia).

Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” is a member of AEBR

Brief information about natural and economic peculiarities of the Euroregion:

Territory of the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” is model for landscapes of Baltic Lakeland.

Distinctive features of the Euroregion are favorable natural-climatic conditions, attractive landscapes and presence of natural-recreation resources providing variable leisure time.

ozerny_000002.JPG ozerny_000003.JPG

Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” has considerable cultural-historic resources, represented by monumental objects of historic-cultural heritage, handicrafts, museum expositions and regular events (festivals, fairs, competitions and etc.)

ozerny_000004.JPG ozerny_000005.JPG

Different companies (of different forms of property) on the territory of the Euroregion represent mainly food industry, processing and light industry.

Development of rural tourism in the Euroregion will facilitate sustainable demand to local goods, which can become a kind of support to local agricultural production and service sphere.

Administrative structure:

  • Council – Supreme managing authority
  • Secretariat – coordinating body
  • Directorate – executive body
  • Bureau of the Directorate in every country

Contact details:

Belarusian Bureau
Sovetskaya str., 119, Braslav, 211970, Belarus
tel. + 375 2153 22473 (21419); fax: + 375 2153 29137
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Latvian Bureau
Brivibas str., 13, Kraslava, LV 5601, Latvia
Tел. + 371 656 22201; Факс: + 371 656 22266
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Lithuanian Bureau
Ateities str., 23, LT 30121, Ignalina, Lithuania
tel. + 370 386 52138; Fax: + 370 386 53148
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Activities of theEuroregion:

  • Spatial planning
  • Education, public associations, sport
  • Social sphere
  • Culture
  • Tourism and environment protection
  • Development of economy, assistance to entrepreneurship
  • Development of infrastructure
  • Solving of border-crossing issues

Implemented projects:

  • First project of cross-border cooperation was implemented with the Programme EC Phare CREDO – «Establishing of Latvia-Belarusian information centre».
  • In June 2001 was implemented a project “Euroregion strategy development”.
  • In 2002 the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” received financing for the project “Strengthening of administrative structure of the Euroregion”.
  • In cooperation with municipality of Landkreis Bautzen (Germany) directorate of the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” developed a small project within TACIS CBC “Ozerny Krai” – management and marketing of rural tourism”.
  • Latvian bureau of the Directorate in cooperation with Zarasaysk business-information center since October 2002 till September 2003 had been implementing a project “Assistance to development of small and medium business on the territory of the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” with a help of cross-border cooperation activities and events”.
  • In 2003–2004 on the whole territory of the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” under supervision of Latvian Bureau within the programme Phare was implemented a project “Improving of culinary services in Latgalia on the basis of concentration of culinary heritage”.
  • Project “Culinary heritage, as method of development of regional tourism in the context of Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” which was confirmed by Programme Interreg IIIA and implemented from May 2005 till June 2006.
  • First million project of the Euroregion “Ozerny Krai” – “Development of cycle routs network in Baltic Lakeland” was adopted by Programmes Interreg IIIA and TACIS. Implementation period – since November 2005 till October 2007 on the territory of Latvia and Lithuania and till May 2008 – on the territory of Belarus.

Sources of finance:

Within 10 years were drawn more than 3 million Euro from EC and Norway funds.

Frontier checkpoints:

Name of a checkpoint Status of checkpoint Contact phone numbers
1 Urbany - Silene International +375 (0215) 32-10-90 – tel/fax transport inspection
2 Grigorovschina – Paternieki International +375 (0215)12-03-31 – tel/fax transport inspection
3 Druya – Piedruya Simplified procedure checkpoint
4 Lipovka – Vorzovo Simplified procedure checkpoint
5 Plusy – Kaplava Simplified procedure checkpoint
6 Vidzy – Tviariachus Simplified procedure checkpoint
7 Lyntupy – Papialiakis Simplified procedure checkpoint
8 Moldevichi – Adutishkis Simplified procedure checkpoint